President's Award

Awarded to an individual recognized as a founder and catalyst of the industry's growth, including for service to NAIOP and to the community.

2018 President's Award Recipient: Tom Shaver

The President’s Award is the highest individual honor presented by NAIOP Minnesota, the Commercial Real Estate Development Association. This award is given to an individual for outstanding service to the commercial real estate industry as founder, catalyst, or promoter of the industry's economic or professional growth, and for service to NAIOP and the greater community. NAIOP members nominate candidates and chapter leaders select a recipient. NAIOP Minnesota proudly presents its 2018 President’s Award to Tom Shaver.

As Partner with Inland Development Partners, Shaver’s 35 years of experience and development expertise benefits both clients and communities. Shaver’s goals within the built environment stem from IDP’s mission of serving as stewards for clients and communities, and collaborating to provide the very best in real estate know-how and execution.

Some of Shaver’s most significant projects include the current redevelopment that will produce Rice Creek Commons in Arden Hills; Excelsior Crossings, a 31-acre multi-use redevelopment in Hopkins; UnitedHealth Group’s 320,000 sq. ft. corporate campus in Minnetonka; and Flying Cloud Corporate Campus, a 293,000 sq. ft. development in Eden Prairie.

An advocate for the power of involvement and inclusivity, Shaver is active in both industry associations and the community. Within NAIOP, Shaver is a long-time contributor within strategic discussions, including generating programming ideas and providing compelling speeches on industry topics. He is an advocate and mentor for engaging new entrants to commercial real estate, having introduced dozens of emerging leaders into the industry. Shaver was NAIOP Minnesota President in 2005, and has served in multiple volunteer leadership positions within the organization. Shaver has also contributed in the community by serving on the board of directors for Klein Bank, and as Chair of the Board of Directors for the City of Wayzata Housing and Redevelopment Authority. He has served on other boards including the Opus Foundation and Interfaith Outreach and Community Partners.

The NAIOP Minnesota membership and Minnesota commercial real estate industry proudly recognize Tom Shaver with the 2018 President’s Award for his exceptional and enduring contributions to local businesses and communities. His many friendships and tireless contributions continue to strengthen Minnesota’s commercial real estate industry.

Chapter Awards

Honoring members in exceptional development, outstanding service and superior leadership.


Past Recipients

Robert Boblett, Sr. (posthumous)
Helen Brooks
Rick Collins
Arne Cook
John Davis
Dennis Doyle
Jeff Eaton
Marion R. Freed
John R. Gabrielson

Ed Harrington
Robert L. Hoffman
Thomas L. Holtz
Steven Hoyt
David Jellison
Jean Kane
David L. Kordonowy
Patrick E. Mascia

Mike McElroy
Michael Meents
Clint Miller
Whitney Peyton
Larry Pobuda
Mark Reiling
William S. Reiling
E. Joseph Shaw

Stewart Stender
Ken Stensby
Eva Stevens
Boyd Stofer
William Tobin
Matt Van Slooten
Bill Wardwell
Kathy Young