Property Tax Extension Status by Minnesota Counties

May 12, 2020

NAIOP Minnesota, the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce and other groups have all advocated for a delay in the upcoming May 15 property tax payment due date to help mitigate the economic impact of Covid-19.

As of the date of this post, while the State Legislature has not approved a payment delay, more than 30 of the state’s 87 counties have passed their own resolutions allowing various levels of delay and/or penalty relief to property taxpayers.

Because there is no standard approach used by the counties, the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce has compiled a summary of the assistance that is currently being offered by these counties .

NAIOP members: If you have a relevant update or experience with the May 15, 2020 county property tax deadline, email NAIOP.

– Kevin Howat, Public Policy Director, NAIOP Minnesota